How I started learning English

This is my first post here whole  in English – sorry about that, but you know,  this is the way I want to encourage you to learn Polish. I want to tell you about my way of learning foreign language. Of course you will find here a lot of mistakes, but I don’t want if mistakes stops me to communicate with you. So please don’t judge me too serious ;-)

Let me introduce myself a little.
You know I’m over 40 years old, and I’ve started learning English 1 January 2010, so it was about 19 months ago.
To be honest, I used to learn English when I was in High School. But it was 20 years ago, and only 2 years, 2-3 hours per week.
I always thought that I’m not able to learn any foreign language. I’m an engineer and study math and physics was always easier for me than learning languages.
Now I was made up my mind to try learn English on my own. My goal was to be able to communicate with natives and watch movies in oryginal. At the beginning I bought PC Engish course Profesor Henry 6.0 MEGAPAKIET by Edgar – what was happened I’ll tell you next time.

That’s it for today! Cześć!

PS. I love to read about how was your beginning in Polish, so please write about yourself in comments :)

7 Comments

Filed under In English

7 responses to “How I started learning English

  1. Chris, thanks for your comment!
    That’s interesting story, and I can see you have strong motivation to learn Polish and you don’t give up! Great!
    I was trying to memorize new English words and even sentences at the beginning and I’ll tell about my experiences in the next post.
    Pozdrawiam Cię Chris!

  2. Chris

    I started learning Polish in a class 3 years ago. Unfortunately everyone spoke mostly german. We used a book that was only in Polish. I think that was good, but there was no glossary. We did a lot of translation from German to Polish. I didn’t really like the class. Then I did a tandem with a native polish speaker who was also a teacher, but I couldn’t say much and found the conversations to difficult to be enjoyable. Then I tried numerous books to learn Polish. Too many new words every single lesson, too much grammar, too much German, not very interesting. Now I’m searching high and low for comprehensible input. In comparison to English, German, Spanish & Russian, there are very very few sources of comprehensible input for the beginning student of Polish. Unfortunately, the best source I’ve found so far is a dictionary. So I’m reading “Słownik Minimum Języka Polskiego”. I’m also simply memorizing a lot of words with “Anki”.

  3. Witaj Lore :)
    cieszę się, że i Ty podzieliłaś się z nami swoim doświadczeniem z nauki języka polskiego. Wiem, że zrobiłaś świetną robotę i teraz będziesz cieszyć się mówiąc płynnie po polsku!
    Widzę, że chłopak lub dziewczyna z Polski to najlepszy nauczyciel :-)
    (Lore ma chłopaka z Polski, he he)
    Pozdrawiam Ciebie i Marka!

  4. Lore

    ahhhh!! by the way! i have Profesor Henry as well!!! hehe, it is very good!

  5. Lore

    oooo, bardzo fajnie historyjki!! Tony!! ja też uczę się polskiego! i myślę że wszystko że napisałeś tutaj ma sens!! :) wszystko rozumiem! :) Czasami czuję że nie mam radę, bo jak powiedziałeś, język polski jest bardzo trudny się uczyć! ale jeśli masz duża motywacja i kiedy czytam taki doświadczenia z innę ludzie jak ty, to jest dla mnie super!! :) i myślę też że w pewnego dnia, ja też będzie mówic po polsku tak płynnie i normalnie! :) Dziękuję za to!! Pozdrowienia z Salwadoru!! Dla ciebie też Piotrek!!! Dziękujemy ci bardzo mocno za twoim lekcji!!!! :))))

  6. Cześć Tony,
    dziękuję, że napisałeś o sobie. Wiele osób uważa, że nie ma talentu do języków obcych, a potem okazuje się, że mogą nauczyć się doskonale nawet trudnego języka. Proszę przyjmij moje gratulacje, znasz świetnie język polski – domyślam się, że duża w tym zasługa Twojej dziewczyny :-)
    Teraz myślę, że nie ma osób, które nie mogą nauczyć się języka obcego, to tylko kwestia chęci i wytrwałości.
    Dziękuję Ci za Twój wpis, pozdrawiam Ciebie i Twoją dziewczynę!
    PS Twój wpis ma WIELKI sens! :-)

  7. Tony

    Cześć Piotr

    Nigdy nie miałem talentu do nauki języków obcych. Nauczyłem się w szkole francuskiego i niemieckiego, ale nic nie pamiętam. Uczę się polskiego już od trzech lat. Jestem z Anglii i tam poznałem moją dziewczyną, kto jest polką. Mój dziadek też był polakiem, ale niestety już nie żyje. Około półtora roku temu przeprowadziliśmy się do Polski. Pierwotnie uczyłem się polskiego 3 godziny w tygodniu. Miałem listy słów i zasad do zapamiętywanie, korzystałem z wielu książek ale to mi nie pomagało. W końcu przestałem czytać książki gramatyki, i teraz oglądem filmy, telewizję i czytam zwykłe książki. Język polski jest bardzo trudny, o wiele trudniejszy niż niemiecki i francuski. Uważam, że trzeba nieustannie powtarzać, słuchać i czytać, żeby postąpić. Mam nadzieję, że mój wpis ma sens :-)

Leave a Reply

